Apple Cup Football Game – University of Washington Huskies and Washington State University Cougars

The most bizarre of names that college football games have (or for that matter , games of any kind) the highly sought-after Battle of the Milk Can is perhaps the most odd name to come into existence. In this annual rivalry match which is played in between Boise State University (BSU) and Fresno State University the teams of male warriors clash in a thrilling contest to decide who will get the honor of lifting the Milk Can Trophy.

People who aren’t familiar with the idea of playing a football match to win”the Milk Can Trophy would probably assume that the roots of the name could be an old-fashioned term that was indigenous to the area. The surprise for those who have a basic understanding of the tiniest information about the Battle of the Milk Can is the fact that the exclusive title was created in 2005. Maybe something as bizarre as a war over a milk bottle is not a huge surprise for two universities named after states that are not. When you look up the 50 states of the Union, neither states like the one of Boise or Fresno state Fresno appear.

It should be no surprising that farmers who milk cows have been behind the decision to name the Milk Can Trophy. It is named after the Fresno State Bulldogs reside at Fresno, California and the Boise State Broncos are located in Boise, Idaho. It is just so it happens that California as well as Idaho are among the top five dairy-producing states in America in the top two spots, number one and four, respectively. It is true that the Bronco Dairy Boosters give money to Boise State and at the same time, another dairy group known as The South Valley Dairy Group gives money to Fresno State. Two of the men who created the infamous Battle of the Milk Can game’s title were Roger Fluegel and Dan Van Grouw, who are associated with both the dairy funding booster programs, which we have previously discussed.

As for some, the idea of the Milk Can Trophy game was instantly a success with football fans as well as the football teams themselves. Due to issues with the administration, the inaugural trophy wasn’t completed in time to be given the winning team of the 2005 game (Fresno defeated 27-7). Every year , the team that wins the biggest game แนะนำเว็บแทงบอล is awarded the honor that they can keep their trophy the duration of a year. They also have the honour of having their team’s winning trophy engraved to be preserved for posterity. After five seasons , Boise State Broncos are on the rise. Boise State Broncos are off to a three-win advantage after winning their most recent four games since losing the first game.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *